Thanks to Kristi!

Posted on May 20, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Kristi was my college dormitory roommate my Freshman year. We hit it off instantly. She was honest and exuberant and fun. She had resided in the little college town that I then found myself. I feel really fortunate to have made a new best friend of my roommate. AND, I am particularly thankful that it was Kristi who got me my first job working with the elderly. Prior to realizing this would be my calling in life, I’d been a lifeguard, a forest firefighter for the Department of Natural Resources and salad bar preparer in a restaurant, to name a few odd jobs I had enjoyed as a young adult.

Kristi had been working at the local retirement home since high school, and put in a good word for me. I immediately loved it there. The Director hired me to ‘float’, that is, one day I might be assisting with personal care, the next I was doing laundry, the next I was serving in the dining room at mealtimes. I was a cook at times, an activities assistant, and assistant to the Directors, where I learned about staffing and billing and regulations and all sorts of good stuff. I filled in wherever needed, it was an amazing experience for me and I learned so much! It was thrilling. By day I was in class learning Biology of Aging and Sociology of Aging and Nutrition classes and Death and Dying courses….and when I wasn’t learning from the text books and my great professors, I’d be learning it hands-on at the retirement home. The University offers a four year program, a Bachelor of Science degree in Gerontology. Small department, there were maybe eight of us in the entire Gerontology program at that time.

Looking back over the past 16 years, I truly believe it was one of those times where everything was supposed to (and did) just fall into place. It’s exactly what I should be doing. THANK YOU Kristi for helping me get my start in what has been a rewarding career spanning almost two decades. Thanks to Kristi!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

