When my kids were young – by guest columnist Linda

Posted on September 8, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

On Tuesday, I plan to visit the small town where my children were young. Where my daughter belonged to a ‘co-op’ preschool, where my son played pee-wee sports, where my oldest son delivered newspapers in the neighborhood, where my husband was a service club member, where the old hardware store had wooden floors, the local grocery store had a ‘family’ name on it, and the building supply store too!

Where we attended a public ‘well child’ clinic, where the gas station was just…..well, a gas station. Where we actually tested a ships cannon at our neighbors house one New Years eve. Where my children rode their bikes without a helmet. Where I was a member of a free childcare exchange group.

Where I had a clothesline, a fireplace and firewood. Where there was ONE local newspaper, one local florist, one small family-owned bookstore, one homemade pastry shop, one outdoor summer theatre and one bowling alley (where a boy set the pins back up!).

I’ll be back there Tuesday, I wonder how it’s changed. Perhaps I’ll write a follow up here…..look for that to come.

**Linda is a freelance writer from Puyallup, Washington. She is a multi-tasking, experienced, fun-loving grandmother of five. With 48 years of marriage under her belt & going strong, and raising 3 brilliant children….”this is her take”. Look for more to come from Linda.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

