Return to a small town – this is my take

Posted on September 29, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

For my return visit to the small town when my children were young, I chose the perfect friend (she’s a good listener), walking shoes and a rainy day. A winning combination it turns out! I’m here to find businesses and places that remain.

The first business on North Harbor Drive is still a family owned market and grocery. It needs paint, has just a few parking spaces, and the daily “specials” are handwritten and taped out front. Remember that?

On the road to our old neighborhood, we pass Creek park where my husband and service club members built a big wooden play structure for local children. This is “our” neighborhood, lucky kids…..

I see more fences in the area, I’m guessing ‘city folks’ have moved on our street.

My slow drive along the eastside where my son delivered newspapers felt salty and private, just as I remembered.

The sand spit at the end of the road where my children played is now a paddle-in-picnic spot. It is a great place to tell my friend about the sly-a-kite day I declared in a rowboat in the bay with my kids. Is that allowed?

My favorite locally owned Bookstore in town would be an historic site, if made of bricks. The new owner is competing with the internet for sales. I lingered there and spoke softly, seemed the right thing to do. I must add here that later that day I saw the stores first owner, and we shared a great chat. She now owns a used book store nearby. Consumer trend?

Lunchtime – we headed for a locally owned waterfront legend. At a waterside table (remember the rainy day), we ordered the outstanding clam chowder. Service was excellent, too. Great dining can be budget friendly! As we headed uptown, I added to my register the fresh flower shop which looked exclusive to the area. Why buy stems in the grocery store? And I found the small local newspaper pressroom. A survivor – in the demise of printed news!

I did not find the old hardware store with wooden floors that squeaked. Maybe some new owner of the building didn’t see the value in something old. Ah…another subject.

Walking back to my car on the avenue, no parking meters, we drove to our final destination, the Orthopedic Guild shop to see a dear friend who was working there. Same shop, no frills, 30 years serving others.

I am thankful this community values and retains old places, in place.

With love-

**Linda is a freelance writer from Puyallup, Washington. She is a multi-tasking, experienced, fun-loving grandmother of five. With 48 years of marriage under her belt & going strong, and raising 3 brilliant children….”this is her take”. Look for more to come from Linda.


 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

